Hammond Sports Hall of Fame


Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award recipients
Also during the induction program, the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame’s 28th annual Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award will be presented to three 2018 graduates of Hammond schools who depict the qualities for which the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame was established: dedication, contribution, ability, service and citizenship.

The recipients are:

Hannah Hammar (Morton), Megan Sullivan (Bishop Noll) and Jamari Washington (Gavit).

Hannah Hammar earned 13 varsity letters and was a 4-time 1st team all-conference selection in cross country, track & field and basketball. She holds three school track running records, earned a sectional 1st place in the 800-meter run and anchored a sectional-winning 1600-meter relay team. She also was named her basketball team’s Most Dedicated Governor Award recipient. Additionally, this National Honor Society student served as a Peer Tutor for students with special needs and volunteered at Hammond’s Special Education Summer Day Camp. She attends Indiana University Northwest on a basketball scholarship.

Megan Sullivan competed on five Warriors’ sports teams; earned 13 varsity letters; was all-conference in soccer, track and cross country; and captained those sports her senior year. She also was academic all-state her senior year in cross country and soccer and was named her swimming team’s Best Mental Attitude award recipient. The summa cum laude honor graduate also served Noll as a Student Ambassador, National Honor Society president and Spellbowl captain. Additionally, she wrote a musical composition that was performed at graduation. Within her community she has served as a food pantry and elementary school volunteer and an altar server for her church parish. She attends the University of Notre Dame on an academic scholarship.

Jamari Washington earned eight varsity letters on Gladiators football, wrestling and track & field squads. All-conference and team captain in football, he was a hard driving, two-way performer. He also was a state qualifier and three-time semi-state qualifier in wrestling. Away from the gridiron and wrestling mat, the National Honor Society student was active in Student Council, served on the Principals Leadership Committee, was vice president of his class and performed in the school band. He also participated in the Spirit Student Leadership Summit on Jaywalking with the Hammond Police Department. He continues to compete in football and wrestling at Wabash College.


2018, Brittany Lynn Anderson (Bishop Noll) and Malcolm Lang (Gavit)

2017, Gabriela Lopez (Gavit) and Marcos Keefe (Bishop Noll.)

2016, Kendria Huff (Morton) and Andrew Key (Morton)

2015, Asya Hobbs (Noll) and Larry Crisler (Noll)

2014, Cierra Charbonneau (Morton), Daniel Pobereyko (Noll) and Joe Jackson (Hammond).

2013, Stephanie Maman (Gavit) and Joey Guevara (Gavit)

2012, Kimberly Johnson (Morton) and Wally Kasprzycki (Bishop Noll)

2011,Tityana S. Miller (Hammond), Micah Rooke (Clark)

2010, Brittany Piaseczny (Clark), Ian O’Boyle (Bishop Noll)

2009, Crystal Torres (Morton), Craig Fruth (Clark)

2008, Jill Jazyk (Morton), Albert Carpen (Clark) Michael Carpen (Clark)

2007, Amanda Jones (Hammond), Robert Dutton (Morton)

2006, Sara Keilman (Morton), Bobby Kimp (Noll), Tim Sirbek (Morton)

2005, Christianne Torres (Morton), Joseph Cavazos (Noll)

2004,Cassie Holmes (Morton), Jawann Turner (Hammond), Kari Schmidt (Hammond)

2003, Leslie Tyburski (Gavit), Chris Riley (Gavit)

2002, Dana Jeffries (Morton), Mike Coles (Hammond)

2001, Cathy Herring (Morton), Juan Alba (Gavit)

2000, Dana Walsko (Gavit), Mike Ramirez (Clark)

1999, Lisa Johnsen (Gavit), Joaquiam Jackson (Hammond)

1998, Nicole Vine (Noll), Keith Herron (Hammond)

1997, Mary Rodovich (Gavit), Manuel Amezcua (Clark)

1996, Quintoria Daniels (Hammond), Mike Austin (Hammond)

1995, Shalauna McMillan (Hammond), David Pierce (Morton)

1994, Shannon Snider (Gavit), Elias Marks (Hammond)

1993, Hollie Wright (Clark), Mike Rodeck (Hammond)

1992, Daphne Homco (Morton) Ben Zrnchik (Clark)



Copyright 2019