Hammond Sports Hall of Fame


Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award recipients

Also during the induction program, the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame’s 29th annual Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award will be presented to two 2019 high school graduates who depict the qualities for which the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame was established: athletic and academic achievement, dedication, citizenship, and school and community service.

The recipients are Dawn Pawlak and Noah Maravilla, both from Gavit.

Dawn Pawlak earned eight varsity letters in softball and cross country and was all-conference in seven of her eight seasons of competition. She graduated with a 4.39 grade point average and was active in Gavit’s Natural Helpers mentorship program in service to underclass students, Key Club, Principals Leadership Committee, Student Council and Rainbow Staff. She received a softball scholarship to attend the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, where she is majoring in mechanical engineering.

Noah Maravilla was a football, wrestling and baseball standout, earning 11 varsity letters and all-conference recognition in all three sports. His 3.78 grade point average complemented his service outside the classroom in Natural Helpers, Key Club, Principals Leadership Committee, Student Council and Rainbow Staff. He attends Indiana University and is studying social services.


2019, Hannah Hammar (Morton), Megan Sullivan (Bishop Noll) and Jamari Washington (Gavit)

2018, Brittany Lynn Anderson (Bishop Noll) and Malcolm Lang (Gavit)

2017, Gabriela Lopez (Gavit) and Marcos Keefe (Bishop Noll.)

2016, Kendria Huff (Morton) and Andrew Key (Morton)

2015, Asya Hobbs (Noll) and Larry Crisler (Noll)

2014, Cierra Charbonneau (Morton), Daniel Pobereyko (Bishop Noll) and Joe Jackson (Hammond)

2013, Stephanie Maman (Gavit) and Joey Guevara (Gavit)

2012, Kimberly Johnson (Morton) and Wally Kasprzycki (Bishop Noll)

2011,Tityana S. Miller (Hammond), Micah Rooke (Clark)

2010, Brittany Piaseczny (Clark), Ian O’Boyle (Bishop Noll)

2009, Crystal Torres (Morton), Craig Fruth (Clark)

2008, Jill Jazyk (Morton), Albert Carpen (Clark) Michael Carpen (Clark)

2007, Amanda Jones (Hammond), Robert Dutton (Morton)

2006, Sara Keilman (Morton), Bobby Kimp (Bishop Noll), Tim Sirbek (Morton)

2005, Christianne Torres (Morton), Joseph Cavazos (Bishop Noll)

2004,Cassie Holmes (Morton), Jawann Turner (Hammond), Kari Schmidt (Hammond)

2003, Leslie Tyburski (Gavit), Chris Riley (Gavit)

2002, Dana Jeffries (Morton), Mike Coles (Hammond)

2001, Cathy Herring (Morton), Juan Alba (Gavit)

2000, Dana Walsko (Gavit), Mike Ramirez (Clark)

1999, Lisa Johnsen (Gavit), Joaquiam Jackson (Hammond)

1998, Nicole Vine (Bishop Noll)), Keith Herron (Hammond)

1997, Mary Rodovich (Gavit), Manuel Amezcua (Clark)

1996, Quintoria Daniels (Hammond), Mike Austin (Hammond)

1995, Shalauna McMillan (Hammond), David Pierce (Morton)

1994, Shannon Snider (Gavit), Elias Marks (Hammond)

1993, Hollie Wright (Clark), Mike Rodeck (Hammond)

1992, Daphne Homco (Morton) Ben Zrnchik (Clark)


Copyright 2020