Hammond Sports Hall of Fame


Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award recipients

Recipients of the 2021 Hammond Sports Hall of Fame 30th annual Anderson-Peterson Distinguished Athlete Award are 2020 high school graduates Emily Sutton of Bishop Noll and Tirae Spence of Morton. Named after the family of 1992 Hall of Fame inductee Dave Anderson, the award recognizes recent high school athletic and academic achievement, dedication, citizenship, and school and community service. 

Sutton earned nine varsity letters in basketball, soccer and track & field; served as team captain in all three sports; and earned MVP honors in track & field.
She was an honor student and cum laude graduate, a representative on Bishop Noll’s Athletic Council and a student ambassador.
Within her community, she has served as an elderly care volunteer. She attends Purdue University Northwest.

Spence, a 3-year varsity football letterman and all-conference performer, was selected by the Indiana Football Coaches Association to the 2020 Northern Indiana
all-star team following his senior year. He was an honor roll student and has participated in various community clean-up endeavors.
He received an athletic football scholarship to attend Marian University in Indianapolis. 


2020, Dawn Pawlak (Gavit) and Noah Maravilla (Gavit)

2019, Hannah Hammar (Morton), Megan Sullivan (Bishop Noll) and Jamari Washington (Gavit)

2018, Brittany Lynn Anderson (Bishop Noll) and Malcolm Lang (Gavit)

2017, Gabriela Lopez (Gavit) and Marcos Keefe (Bishop Noll)

2016, Kendria Huff (Morton) and Andrew Key (Morton)

2015, Asya Hobbs (Noll) and Larry Crisler (Noll)

2014, Cierra Charbonneau (Morton), Daniel Pobereyko (Bishop Noll) and Joe Jackson (Hammond)

2013, Stephanie Maman (Gavit) and Joey Guevara (Gavit)

2012, Kimberly Johnson (Morton) and Wally Kasprzycki (Bishop Noll)

2011,Tityana S. Miller (Hammond), Micah Rooke (Clark)

2010, Brittany Piaseczny (Clark), Ian O’Boyle (Bishop Noll)

2009, Crystal Torres (Morton), Craig Fruth (Clark)

2008, Jill Jazyk (Morton), Albert Carpen (Clark) Michael Carpen (Clark)

2007, Amanda Jones (Hammond), Robert Dutton (Morton)

2006, Sara Keilman (Morton), Bobby Kimp (Bishop Noll), Tim Sirbek (Morton)

2005, Christianne Torres (Morton), Joseph Cavazos (Bishop Noll)

2004,Cassie Holmes (Morton), Jawann Turner (Hammond), Kari Schmidt (Hammond)

2003, Leslie Tyburski (Gavit), Chris Riley (Gavit)

2002, Dana Jeffries (Morton), Mike Coles (Hammond)

2001, Cathy Herring (Morton), Juan Alba (Gavit)

2000, Dana Walsko (Gavit), Mike Ramirez (Clark)

1999, Lisa Johnsen (Gavit), Joaquiam Jackson (Hammond)

1998, Nicole Vine (Bishop Noll)), Keith Herron (Hammond)

1997, Mary Rodovich (Gavit), Manuel Amezcua (Clark)

1996, Quintoria Daniels (Hammond), Mike Austin (Hammond)

1995, Shalauna McMillan (Hammond), David Pierce (Morton)

1994, Shannon Snider (Gavit), Elias Marks (Hammond)

1993, Hollie Wright (Clark), Mike Rodeck (Hammond)

1992, Daphne Homco (Morton) Ben Zrnchik (Clark)


Copyright 2021