Hammond Sports Hall of Fame


Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award recipients

Also, during this year’s program, the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame will present its 32nd annual Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award to two 2022 high school graduates of Hammond schools who depict athletic achievement, academic excellence, dedication, citizenship, and school and community service.

The 2023 recipients are Armani Ruiz and Demetrius Dean, both from Hammond Central.

Armani Ruiz earned all-conference recognition in volleyball, swimming and softball in high school. She also achieved academic all-state honors, graduating with a 3.7 grade point average. Additionally, she was a member of National Honors Society and the school newspaper staff. She attends Stonybrook (NY) University.

Demetrius Dean earned seven varsity letters in football and wrestling, gaining a sectional championship and regional runner-up honors as a wrestler. A National Honors Society student, he also participated in the Hammond Area Career Center’s engineering /manufacturing program. He attends Purdue University Northwest.

2022, Courtney Blakely (Bishop Noll) and Joshua Lamb (Morton)

2021, Emily Sutton (Bishop Noll) and Tirae Spence (Morton)

2020, Dawn Pawlak (Gavit) and Noah Maravilla (Gavit)

2019, Hannah Hammar (Morton), Megan Sullivan (Bishop Noll) and Jamari Washington (Gavit)

2018, Brittany Lynn Anderson (Bishop Noll) and Malcolm Lang (Gavit)

2017, Gabriela Lopez (Gavit) and Marcos Keefe (Bishop Noll)

2016, Kendria Huff (Morton) and Andrew Key (Morton)

2015, Asya Hobbs (Noll) and Larry Crisler (Noll)

2014, Cierra Charbonneau (Morton), Daniel Pobereyko (Bishop Noll) and Joe Jackson (Hammond)

2013, Stephanie Maman (Gavit) and Joey Guevara (Gavit)

2012, Kimberly Johnson (Morton) and Wally Kasprzycki (Bishop Noll)

2011,Tityana S. Miller (Hammond), Micah Rooke (Clark)

2010, Brittany Piaseczny (Clark), Ian O’Boyle (Bishop Noll)

2009, Crystal Torres (Morton), Craig Fruth (Clark)

2008, Jill Jazyk (Morton), Albert Carpen (Clark) Michael Carpen (Clark)

2007, Amanda Jones (Hammond), Robert Dutton (Morton)

2006, Sara Keilman (Morton), Bobby Kimp (Bishop Noll), Tim Sirbek (Morton)

2005, Christianne Torres (Morton), Joseph Cavazos (Bishop Noll)

2004,Cassie Holmes (Morton), Jawann Turner (Hammond), Kari Schmidt (Hammond)

2003, Leslie Tyburski (Gavit), Chris Riley (Gavit)

2002, Dana Jeffries (Morton), Mike Coles (Hammond)

2001, Cathy Herring (Morton), Juan Alba (Gavit)

2000, Dana Walsko (Gavit), Mike Ramirez (Clark)

1999, Lisa Johnsen (Gavit), Joaquiam Jackson (Hammond)

1998, Nicole Vine (Bishop Noll)), Keith Herron (Hammond)

1997, Mary Rodovich (Gavit), Manuel Amezcua (Clark)

1996, Quintoria Daniels (Hammond), Mike Austin (Hammond)

1995, Shalauna McMillan (Hammond), David Pierce (Morton)

1994, Shannon Snider (Gavit), Elias Marks (Hammond)

1993, Hollie Wright (Clark), Mike Rodeck (Hammond)

1992, Daphne Homco (Morton) Ben Zrnchik (Clark)


Copyright 2023