Hammond Sports Hall of Fame


Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Athlete Award recipients

Also, during the 2024 program, the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame will present its 33rd annual Anderson-Peterson Family Distinguished Student Athlete Award to two 2023 high school graduates of Hammond schools who depict athletic achievement, academic excellence, dedication, citizenship, and school and community service.

The recipients are Angelyna Lopez of Morton and Xavier Zukley of Noll.  

Angelyna Lopez competed in softball and volleyball, earning five varsity letters and several other athletic awards, while compiling a 4.2 grade point average. Also at Morton, she was a peer tutor and member of National Honor Society. Additionally, she participated in community clean-up activities, as well as clothing and food drives. She attends Indiana University Northwest.

Xavier Zukley earned 11 varsity letters in soccer, basketball, volleyball and track & field. An honor student, he also served on Noll’s Student Athletic Council, participated in Project NOW Community Service Club and attended the Indiana High School Athletic Association Leadership Conference. He competes on the men’s volleyball team at Aurora (IL) University.



2023, Armani Ruiz (Hammond Central) and Demetrius Dean (Hammond Central)

2022, Courtney Blakely (Bishop Noll) and Joshua Lamb (Morton)

2021, Emily Sutton (Bishop Noll) and Tirae Spence (Morton)

2020, Dawn Pawlak (Gavit) and Noah Maravilla (Gavit)

2019, Hannah Hammar (Morton), Megan Sullivan (Bishop Noll) and Jamari Washington (Gavit)

2018, Brittany Lynn Anderson (Bishop Noll) and Malcolm Lang (Gavit)

2017, Gabriela Lopez (Gavit) and Marcos Keefe (Bishop Noll)

2016, Kendria Huff (Morton) and Andrew Key (Morton)

2015, Asya Hobbs (Noll) and Larry Crisler (Noll)

2014, Cierra Charbonneau (Morton), Daniel Pobereyko (Bishop Noll) and Joe Jackson (Hammond)

2013, Stephanie Maman (Gavit) and Joey Guevara (Gavit)

2012, Kimberly Johnson (Morton) and Wally Kasprzycki (Bishop Noll)

2011,Tityana S. Miller (Hammond), Micah Rooke (Clark)

2010, Brittany Piaseczny (Clark), Ian O’Boyle (Bishop Noll)

2009, Crystal Torres (Morton), Craig Fruth (Clark)

2008, Jill Jazyk (Morton), Albert Carpen (Clark) Michael Carpen (Clark)

2007, Amanda Jones (Hammond), Robert Dutton (Morton)

2006, Sara Keilman (Morton), Bobby Kimp (Bishop Noll), Tim Sirbek (Morton)

2005, Christianne Torres (Morton), Joseph Cavazos (Bishop Noll)

2004, Cassie Holmes (Morton), Jawann Turner (Hammond), Kari Schmidt (Hammond)

2003, Leslie Tyburski (Gavit), Chris Riley (Gavit)

2002, Dana Jeffries (Morton), Mike Coles (Hammond)

2001, Cathy Herring (Morton), Juan Alba (Gavit)

2000, Dana Walsko (Gavit), Mike Ramirez (Clark)

1999, Lisa Johnsen (Gavit), Joaquiam Jackson (Hammond)

1998, Nicole Vine (Bishop Noll)), Keith Herron (Hammond)

1997, Mary Rodovich (Gavit), Manuel Amezcua (Clark)

1996, Quintoria Daniels (Hammond), Mike Austin (Hammond)

1995, Shalauna McMillan (Hammond), David Pierce (Morton)

1994, Shannon Snider (Gavit), Elias Marks (Hammond)

1993, Hollie Wright (Clark), Mike Rodeck (Hammond)

1992, Daphne Homco (Morton) Ben Zrnchik (Clark)


Copyright 2024